Athena Review Image Archive  

Kom Ombo: Temple of Horus and Sobek (1849 photo)

The combined Temple of Horus and Sobek at Kom Ombo (photo: du Camp 1852, pl.65).

Kom Ombo, located in upper Egypt about 50 km north of the Nubian border at Aswan, has a unique double temple to the hawk deity Horus and the crocodile god Sobek.  Most of the visible ruins at Kom Ombo date from the Ptolemaic and Roman periods (150 BC-AD 270). New Kingdom remains from the 18th Dynasty (1550-1307 BC) were also found by Champollion during his 1828-9 visit to the site.

This early photo by Maxime du Camp shows the conjoined temples in very much the same state as when they were drawn 50 years earlier during the French Expediiton of 1798-1801.

The caption by du Camp reads: "Temple of Koum-Ombou (ancient Ombos). Built by the Ptolemies Epiphanus, Philometor, and Evergetus II.  Dedicated to two triadic [deities]:
Sevee-Ra - Hathor - Kons-Hor
Aroeri  - Tsomenofre  - Pneutho."

Athena Review Image Archive™     back issues 

Main index of Athena Review  

Copyright  ©  1996-2016    Athena Publications, Inc.  (All Rights Reserved).

Copyright  ©  2017 Rust Family Foundation